top of page
Search

Newsworthy items

Hello, Welcome to my first-ever Authors’ Newsletter. Creative Journey: I missed a few years with classes, covid and the separation, so this fall I gifted myself with two writing retreats: one in Whistler, and one at Chateau d'Orquevaux in France. I probably accomplished more in terms of actual writing and planning in the short time I stayed at the hotel in Whistler, with my tiny 5th floor sloped-roof suite than in the expansive master bedroom in the Napoleon III-styled Chateau. But there was more to do, and other people. I had intended to finish the rough draft of Dirty Planet and figured that if I took the time during the retreats, I could get it done. It’s an upmarket NA Sci-fi that has a good chance of being picked up, even in this market. I even did a sea-themed artist date to get me in the right mindset to write amphibious bipeds. (Don’t ask, just read it). But the muse, as she so often does, had other plans. First of all, I ended up doing some spiritual work - a mini-deliverance that helped me relax. I also put time in at the workout room and hot tub, both of which dealt with stress and made me feel better. I kept getting headaches, probably because I was dealing with chocolate (caffeine and sugar) withdrawals as a result of the stressful school term. By the second or third day, I hadn’t done any significant writing (although my time in Granville island and on the harbour yielded a couple amazing poems.) So, fighting through the headaches and discouragement, I pulled out my phone and started taking notes. I ended up with the outline of a script proposal for a short-story concept. Then came the epiphany. I realized that not only was this concept suited to film, it is also really perfect for the “From Our Dark Side” contest, a Women in Film Vancouver initiative. In past years, had tried to mould by old story ideas to fit the concept and helped to other with their script outlines. But this was a fresh, new idea centering on womens’ issues, inspired by both the short story Johnny Mnemonic, and the film Gaslight. I’m calling it SynthIA. Its sort of a mash-up of genres and subgenres: post-covid near future America meets sci-fi cattlepunk. I won’t be submitting until after graduation because of the implications of the prize: if I win, I will be mentored in scriptwriting in Montreal and Vancouver, and have my idea shopped out to interested film makers! My time in Orquevaux couldn’t have been more different. There were a lot of travel hitches, both on the way there and back. That was really stressful. But it was good for my French. The Chateau d'Orquevaux is a place like no other. It was originally the home of enlightenment thinker Denis Diderot, who pioneered the modern idea of ‘artists as individuals’ with unique, irreplicable styles and stories to tell with their work, rather than just cookie-cutter artizans who could do a job for hire as well as any other. Being on the property was like another world. There was this sense of adventure, excitement and possibility lingering, as if anything was possible. I felt like my wish to go to Narnia had finally come true. It is this land apart from time where golden strands of web float through the air unattached, gleaming in the sunlight. The water is magical, ancient cathedral bells mark every hour and half hour, and muskrats play on the island. Even the trees on the surrounding hills look like they’re a part of some grand work of art It is a wonder-filled place where creativity lives and thrives. All the creators were equally welcome, with our eccentricities and crazy energy. As Julia Cameron postulates, artists like other artists. So there was this instant camaraderie. There were seven (I think) other residents, mostly visual artists. Everyone had a studio. I had a studio. Even the volunteer staff were artists and had their own studios. The food was amazing, thanks to Marie, the chef. Ziggy and Beulah, the creative directors, keep the place running. They eat dinner with the guests most nights. It is nice to hear their perspective and contributions during open studio, history night, and literature night. They have done an amazing job pioneering and nurturing this art space and creative community. Hopefully one day I’ll get to visit again. https://glassseafoam.weebly.com/art-history-blog/artists-as-individuals


10 views1 comment
bottom of page